My First Experience Growing Mushrooms

I recently had the opportunity to give mushroom growing a try – as a way of understanding how they grow with the hope that I may be able to shock them in such a way that I can increase their yields. I was given a four mushroom logs to grow at home, and boy was I excited to give this a try! So in this post I’m going to share with you my experiences with giving mushroom growing a try.

On arrival, I received 4 “logs” comprised of a combination of sawdust, rye, millet, water, and shiitake spawn. As you can see in the photos below, they are brown, bumpy ovoids. They weigh approximately 6.5 lbs each and have a slightly musty smell to them.

20140123-233527.jpg

Without having done much research, I was given some simple instructions:

Day 1: Soak for 2-2.5 hours (completely submerged, they do float…you will need a weight to keep them down)

Day 7-12: Look for mushrooms

Day 16: Soak for 8-12 hours

Day 24: Mushrooms

Day 32: Soak for 16-24 hours

Day 40: Mushrooms

Day 50: Log is done, trash it

Ideal temperatures 62-65 degrees F.
Keep the logs moist or damp if your grow room is not humid enough, we run 90%-99% humidity at all times. Maybe try a spray bottle on a log, spritz it every day or twice a day. Also maybe try sitting a log in a dish or plate in a puddle of 1/4 inch of water. This is in addition to the soak every 16 days.

I started off with soaking the logs for 2 hours in a medium size tub filled with water. The buoyancy of the logs made me hold them down with a heavy wooden box.

Once we got them out of the soak tub, I started off placing them into my grow container, a large plastic tub. I put some wooden crates on the bottom, knowing that they would help isolate the bottom of the logs from any water build-up on the bottom.

20140123-233711.jpg

As you can see, I also placed a small plastic container in there that was filled with water and a drop-in nebulizer (atomizing ultrasonic mister) that created a cool smoke of water vapor necessary for keeping the logs moist.

20140123-234630.jpg

At the same time, after running the box for a few hours, I found that the box and water got kind of warm, so I put it on a timer to allow the system to cool down every other hour.

Amazingly, right on schedule, after about 12 days we started getting some major mushroom growth:

20140123-234838.jpg

And from that, we realized our 1st harvest:

20140123-234929.jpg

Next time, I’ll continue and tell you more about the subsequent soak and fruiting cycles.

Have you ever grown shiitake mushrooms before? How did it work out for you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening

Leave a Reply

