First Experience Growing Mushrooms: The 2nd Fruiting Cycle

Tonight, as we finished enjoying a part of our 2nd Shiitake harvest – sautéed in butter and Bragg’s amino acids, I wanted to share the journey of our 2nd fruiting cycle with you.

At the end of our last cycle, the logs had a heavy dose of white and green mold growing on them. It turned out that the white mold is actually mycelium and the green mold was not too harmful.

20140213-001743.jpg

Yet after doing a little research online, I decided to treat the green mold spots with a little dab of rubbing alcohol. The end result was a cleaned up log with a few white spots remaining and just a little green here and there. I was also advised to let the logs dry out for a few days which I did.

20140213-001950.jpg

After about 4-5 days of drying, I proceeded to perform the next 12 hour soak. I had to improvise using a wire basket and some heavy boxes to hold down the logs under the water.

20140213-002159.jpg
Which resulted in 4 wet logs:

20140213-002228.jpg

Next, I continued as I did before, using the nebulizer on an hourly schedule, but instead of spraying them down 2x per day, I just did it 1x per day. Before, the overly moist conditions were the main source of mold. I also continued to keep the box lid on slightly ajar to let a little fresh air in.

After just 7-8 days, the results were astonishing. While I was told to expect a minor harvest, this one turned out to be the largest one yet!

20140213-002616.jpg

20140213-002700.jpg
Producing 3 heaping bowls filled with mushrooms!

20140213-002755.jpg

Now that the 2nd harvest is complete, I’m going to give the logs a break for a couple of days and then proceed to give them a 3rd soaking. Till next time…

Leave a comment

Filed under Gardening

Leave a Reply

